Ad Here

After PSL draft: All you need to know about T20 league’s second edition



KARACHI: With the conclusion of the players drafting process for the Pakistan Super League (PSL) second edition on October 19, the cash-rich T20 league is all poised to get bigger and better this time around.

The arrival of the new faces in the mega event, and with teams opting to swap players to balance out their combinations, there is a lot to look for the second edition of the Pakistan’s own T20 league.

The Express Tribune is bringing you all the details which you need to know about the players playing in the PSL’s second edition.

The second edition of the PSL will have players from nine Test playing nations.

Since it is a Pakistan’s T20 league, therefore the tournament will feature the most number of players from Pakistan.

The two World T20 finalists, West Indies and England feature the most number of foreign players with 10 each, whereas surprisingly only two Sri Lankan players, both of whom are already retired, will play in the tournament.

The competition will feature as many as 24 World T20 champions from Pakistan, West Indies, England and Sri Lanka.


Karachi Kings will feature the most number (8) of T20 champions, whereas Lahore Qalandars will features the least number of players (3) who were the part of the World T20 winning side.

The PSL second edition will feature a number of T20 superstars from all over the world, who have performed remarkably well while playing in different leagues in different countries.

The tournament will see players with the best strike-rate, which includes West Indian Andre Russell and Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi, whereas the league will also features the highest run-getter in T20 league competition Chris Gayle, who is nearing 10,000 run-mark in the shortest format of the game.

During the drafting process, franchises opted for different combinations, which is quite intriguing to see.

First edition’s champion Islamabad United chose to go with all-rounder-heavy squad, whereas the last season’s runners-up opted for batting-heavy squad.

It will be interesting to see how teams will shape up when the tournament begins in February 2017.

Comments are closed.